Driving Record & Vehicle Record Fee Increase Coming Soon in Michigan
Effective 10-1-2016, the fee to obtain a driving record or a vehicle record (such as title or registration) will increase by $3.00 from $8.00 to $11.00. This fee increase affects both over-the-counter and electronic access methods.
Colorado Driving Record Fee Increased For Manually Processed Records
Effective July 1, 2016, the fee for a driving record obtained in person or by mail increased from $2.60 to $9.00. A certified record increased from $3.20 to $10.00. Note the fee for an accident report also increased to $9.00 and $10.00 if certified.
The fee for electronic driving records did not increase, at least for now, and remains at $2.00 per record. Also the record fee for vehicle title and registration records did not increase and remains at $2.20 per record or $2.70 if certified.
Online or Onsite? Which Fee is Higher?
Here are some interesting statistics comparing the fee of a driving record obtained electronically versus obtained manually (mail or onsite) within the same state.
Beware of vendors who will charge the higher price, regardless of which access method is used. To view a list of current fees with a breakdown if online, onsite, or by mail see:
The fee for electronic access of Kansas motor vehicle records is increasing by $2.10 per record effective October 1, 2013.
For interactive processing for driver and vehicle records the fee increase is from $6.60 to $8.70. For batch processing for driver and vehicle records the fee increase is from $6.00 to $8.10.
Kansas also offers a monitoring system for employers to monitor commercial drivers. That fee also is increasing from $6.00 to $8.10 per driver.
The electronic processing of Kansas motor vehicle records is through Kansas.gov, an affiliate of NIC. See www.kansas.gov/subscribers/services.
There is no fee increase for manually processed records, such as requests by mail or in person.
Posted at 12:15 PM in Background Investigations, Jurisdiction Alert, Legal Research, Motor Vehicle Records, Pre-employment Screening, Public Records, Record Research Tips, State Agencies | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)
Tags: driving record, driving record fee, kansas driving record, kansas mvr, mvr fee, mvr record
Effective October 1, 2013, the Record Look-up Unit in the Driver and Vehicle Records Division of the Department of State is raising teh fee for driver and vehicle records by $1.00. The fee for a non-certified record or an electronic record will increase from $7.00 to $8.00. A certifed record will increase from $8.00 to $9.00. The fee also affects those entities participating in the state's notification and monitoring program for employers and instrunce companies - an increase from $7.00 to $8.00 when a record is generated.
Motor vehicle records (driving records, title, registration, accident reports, etc.) are not public when the records contain personal information. A requester must have a permissible use per both federal and state law. However, some states do provide some useful records online, without personal identifiers, at no charge. The selected list below for a free search of a DL status is taken from The MVR Access and Decoder Digest.
Florida - https://services.flhsmv.gov/DLCheck/
Massachusetts - https://secure.rmv.state.ma.us/LicInquiry/intro.aspx
Ohio - www.ohiobmv.com/abstract.stm
South Carolina - https://www.scdmvonline.com/DMVpublic/trans/DRecPoints.aspx
West Virginia - http://www.transportation.wv.gov/dmv/Pages/dlverify.aspx
Tags: Free Driver License Status Checks Florida - https://services.flhsmv.gov/DLCheck/ Idaho - https://www.accessidaho.org/secure/itd/reinstatement/index.html Kansas - https://www.kdor.org/DLStatus/login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2fdlstatus%2fsecure%2fdefault.aspx Massachusetts - https://secure.rmv.state.ma.us/LicInquiry/intro.aspx Minnesota - https://dutchelm.dps.state.mn.us/dvsinfo/mainframepublic.asp Nebraska - https://www.nebraska.gov/dmv/reinstatements/client.cgi
Engrossed House Bill 2660 has passed both the House and Senate in the Washington State legislation and is now waiting the governor's signature. The bill increases the fee for a driving record, vehicle certificate of ownership, certain vehicle license plates, and vehicle dealer licenses. The fee for an abstract would increase from $10.00 to $13.00 per record - note this is a compromise as the original bill had the fee set at $15.00. If the bill is signed by the governor (or if not vetoed by March 31, 2012), all fee increases will take place effective October 1, 2012.
For more information visit www.leg.wa.gov/pages/home.aspx and search for HB 2660.
In late 2011, the Oregon Department of Administrative Services (DAS) signed an agreement with NIC, Inc. that enables NIC to provide E-Government services on behalf of Oregon State Agencies. Effective April 1, 2012, the local NIC affiliate will be the designated DMV source to provide electronic driving records to approved entities. The fee for an electronic driving record will be $9.68.
As of December, 2011. Arkansas Drivers may now request, view and print their own record online at https://www.ark.org/personal_tvr/index.php. The name, DOB, DL, the DL issue date, and last five digits of the SSN are required along with a major credit card. The fee is $8.50 for an insurance record or $11.50 for a commercial record.
Another new development in Arkansas is the CDL Medical Certificate data will now displayed on commercial records. For more information about this certificate, visit www.dfa.arkansas.gov/offices/driverServices/Pages/medCert.aspx
The Oregon Department of Administrative Services (DAS) recently signed a contract with NIC to provide E-Government services on behalf of Oregon state agencies. DAS has an agreement with DMV for the exclusive rights to have NIC provide access to electronic driving records through the new state web portal once developed. This new service only involves electronic driving records. Vehicle records are not part of the arrangement, nor are any other DMV records offered via electronic or hardcopy.
The changeover to the NIC processing will mean an signficant increase in the cost of obtaining OR driving records. No timetable or fee change annoucement has been made at this time. At present, the Oregon fee of $2.00 per electronic driving record is well below the national average of $8.39. The new fee is expected to be close to the national average.
The fee for an electronic driving record in Wyoming will increase from $3.00 to $5.00 effective January 1, 2012. The fee for a manually processed record remains the same at $5.00.
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission recently announced the phase-in of their new Enhanced Digital Driver's License. The new document is more secure and made with tamper-evident material. One noticeable change is that the cardholder name is formatted on two lines, the last name on the top and first name below. Also the position of the photo moved for drivers under 21 years of age. The larger photo is still on the left side but now half way up the document. Starting in 2012 after the MVC computer system is fully implemented, drivers will be given the option to renew either by mail or over the web.
See www.state.nj.us/mvc/PressReleases/archives/2011/051111.htm for further details.
Senate Bill 608, introduced February 23, 2011, calls for significant increases for many West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicle fees. These increases include record access fees and cost pertaining to the the issuance of driver licenses and vehicle registrations, among others. For example, the bill increases the cost of a driving record from $5.00 to $10.00. Certification of a motor vehicle record would increase from $1.00 to $3.00. The bill is expected to raise $40 million for the state.
The Bill has passed the Senate and has been introduced in the House. A copy of SB608 can be viewed at www.legis.state.wv.us.